Admin On Thursday, August 14, 2014


Celebration Of Independence Day In India
India celebrates her 68 th Independence Day on 15 August 2014.
India attained independence from the British rule on 15 August 1947.

The Indian National Flag

The Indian National Flag is a horizontal three colored flag of deep saffron, white and dark green colors. Ashok Chakra, a 24 spoke wheel in navy blue color is at its center.

The Indian national flag is called "Tiranga" in Hindi. It is made of Khadi - a type of hand spun cloth, made of cotton or silk.

The saffron color represents courage, white; truth & purity and green; peace & prosperity. The Ashok Chakra represents the wheel of law or righteousness.

Dr S. Radhakrishnan, India's first Vice President and second President explained the symbolism of colors and the Ashoka Chakra in the Indian Tricolor thus;

    "The saffron color denotes renunciation or disinterestedness. Our leaders must be indifferent to material gains and dedicate themselves to their work.

    The white in the center is light, the path of truth to guide our conduct.
    The green shows our relation to (the) soil, our relation to the plant life here, on which all other life depends.
 The "Ashoka Chakra" in the centre of the white is the wheel of the law of dharma. Truth or satya, dharma or virtue ought to be the controlling principle of those who work under this flag.
The wheel denotes motion. There is death in stagnation. There is life in movement. India should no more resist change, it must move and go forward. The wheel represents the dynamism of a peaceful change."


Leave a Reply

Subscribe to Posts | Subscribe to Comments